How to spawn ai

All about Maps, Mods & Creating them
phoenixfyre7
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:45 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Blue
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch

How to spawn ai

Post by phoenixfyre7 »

I am sorry if this seems repetative. I am trying to make ICPs spawn after a switch is activated.
User avatar
TronFAQ
[LDSO] Member
[LDSO] Member
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:50 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Cyan
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by TronFAQ »

Hi phoenix, welcome to the LDSO forum. :D

Here's a real quick explanation . . .

Make a CAIHuman object. Set the ModelTemplate to the character you want. Set the Brain to match the character. GoalSet depends on the type of character you're using. In the case of ICPs, probably the best GoalSet is ICRegularReinforcement. Set the character's Template setting to True. Change the name of this object to something like ICPTemplate.

Then create a Spawner object. Set its Target to ICPTemplate. Name this object ICPSpawner.

Now, in whatever switch you create, have it execute the command msg player (ICPSpawner spawn). The ICP will appear in the spot you placed the CAIHuman object.

There's more to it than that (Regions, AIVolumes, AINodes, enemy AI weapon use), but I'll leave it there for now. If you have any further questions, either myself or someone else will be glad to answer them.
phoenixfyre7
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:45 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Blue
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by phoenixfyre7 »

THANX that solved my problem
User avatar
TronFAQ
[LDSO] Member
[LDSO] Member
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:50 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Cyan
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by TronFAQ »

Hey phoenix, just wanted to let you know that no one is going to join your dedicated server if you don't make your maps available for download somewhere. The maps don't auto-download in Tron 2.0. Unless you intended your server to be private or only for friends. Just a friendly tip.
phoenixfyre7
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:45 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Blue
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by phoenixfyre7 »

Thanx for the advice as soon as i get a handle on things ill be sure to post some maps also y is it the lsdo servers dont always show on the list?
User avatar
HangmanEXE
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:37 pm
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Lightcycles
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by HangmanEXE »

I have a Q VERY relating to this issue.
How can we get the bots (CAIHuman obj) names to display in game if someone has profiler equipped?

...I tryed the nameID entry, but that didn't seem to work as well as the entry field under it, but nothing displayed excet usual health/energy.

HangmanEXE
In my day we didn't need these fancy R,G,B, LCD an 3D colors!
A program was happy to process 15 megacycles just to get to use monochrome display! You program's today wouldn't know a hard microcycles work if it came up and derez'd ya from behind!
User avatar
TronFAQ
[LDSO] Member
[LDSO] Member
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:50 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Cyan
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by TronFAQ »

The NameID field was used in older Monolith games, but Tron 2.0 seems to ignore it. Instead, the names of characters are defined in the MODELBUTES.TXT file. Either a single name can be assigned, or a range of names. In the case of ICPs, z-Lots, and DataWraiths you can have multiple names assigned to the one character type. So that as each one spawns, it has a different name.

As for seeing the name when using the Profiler, make sure it's at least Beta level. At Alpha I think it only shows health/energy. Then health/energy and name at Beta. And finally enemy health/energy, name, and weapons/permissions at Gold.
User avatar
HangmanEXE
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:37 pm
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Lightcycles
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by HangmanEXE »

Ok, I checked the modelbutes.txt file out via notepad ...but here is what mine says...

Examp section - ICP Shield - alanspc

name- "IC_Shield_alanspc"
nameID- [5700, 5715] ------ huh????... might as well had said [HA, HA], lol.

I did a search for files with these names but didn't find anything. ...help?!?

what about custom names? Is this even be a possibility, or would this be a mod only feature?

.like...lol
l
\/
HangmanEXE
In my day we didn't need these fancy R,G,B, LCD an 3D colors!
A program was happy to process 15 megacycles just to get to use monochrome display! You program's today wouldn't know a hard microcycles work if it came up and derez'd ya from behind!
User avatar
win3k
[LDSO] Member
[LDSO] Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 2:26 am
Location: UK

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by win3k »

Morning chaps

The numbers in the modelbutes file correspond to a range (5700 - 5715) of string IDs in the string table stored in cres.dll (default path C:\Program Files\Buena Vista Interactive\Tron 2.0\game\Cres.dll).

5700, for example is "defwatch.exe"; 5709 is "mail_scanner.exe" and so on.

To change these, two considerations apply.

1. You need a utility capable of editing the string table. I use MS Visual Studio 2008, but there is (IIRC) a free/shareware utility called resedit (http://www.resedit.net/) - I haven't used that, so I can't comment on how good it is.

2. AFAIK, any change to cres.dll will break multiplayer compatability - in other words, you need to release it as a mod, and only players with the same mod installed can play together.

win3k
ldso://win3k - Living Dead System Operators
[2.0PD] - 2.0 Program Developers
User avatar
HangmanEXE
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:37 pm
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Lightcycles
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by HangmanEXE »

aww, so much for my gettin to see HangmanEXE in game.....
.
.
.
.
....man that really REALLY SUCKS!


(walks off REALLY bummed out)

HangmanEXE
In my day we didn't need these fancy R,G,B, LCD an 3D colors!
A program was happy to process 15 megacycles just to get to use monochrome display! You program's today wouldn't know a hard microcycles work if it came up and derez'd ya from behind!
User avatar
TronFAQ
[LDSO] Member
[LDSO] Member
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:50 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: Cyan
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by TronFAQ »

win3k wrote:there is (IIRC) a free/shareware utility called resedit (http://www.resedit.net/)
Hmm, I actually didn't know about that one! Thanks for pointing it out. I was aware of XN Resource Editor which is similar, and also free. But the one you mentioned looks even better.

Funny enough, it has the same name as the CRES editor in Winrez LT. But I don't recommend anyone use that one.

EDIT: Ah, wait. This ResEdit program needs .NET to run while XN Resource Editor does not. So while ResEdit looks more advanced, not requiring .NET to be installed is a point in XN's favor.
AFAIK, any change to cres.dll will break multiplayer compatability - in other words, you need to release it as a mod, and only players with the same mod installed can play together.
Actually, CRES.DLL is the one binary file that's safe to modify. When I tested (in gamep6.rez), it didn't break Multiplayer for me. But that's because it wasn't part of a mod.

Of course, Hangman will still have to turn his map into a mod. And the very act of turning it into a mod breaks MP. So the point as to whether CRES does the breaking becomes moot, I guess. Sorry for the bad news, Hangman. :???:
User avatar
HangmanEXE
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:37 pm
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Lightcycles
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by HangmanEXE »

bah, ...not doin a mod.
I will learn how to do the display msgs that say who is being alerted to grid, then trigger a spawner. Anyone nearby will logicall know who it is.

HangmanEXE
In my day we didn't need these fancy R,G,B, LCD an 3D colors!
A program was happy to process 15 megacycles just to get to use monochrome display! You program's today wouldn't know a hard microcycles work if it came up and derez'd ya from behind!
User avatar
deeahchur
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:43 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by deeahchur »

Try to make the announcement a sound file?
Ti| / / S C A N N I N G
Tz) / / Incompatable Program detected
Tk| / / Initiate Yggdrassil Conscription Potocol
T=| "Appropriation is the highest form of appreciation."
User avatar
HangmanEXE
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:37 pm
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Lightcycles
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by HangmanEXE »

Well, I was thinking about the text display that it does in single player on screen...like when it says jet was the source of the corrupion... or is this not an option either?

HangmanEXE
In my day we didn't need these fancy R,G,B, LCD an 3D colors!
A program was happy to process 15 megacycles just to get to use monochrome display! You program's today wouldn't know a hard microcycles work if it came up and derez'd ya from behind!
User avatar
deeahchur
Registered users
Registered users
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:43 am
Do you own a copy of Tron 2.0?: Yes
What is your favorite Tron character color?: White
What type of multiplayer do you like to play?: Deathmatch
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: How to spawn ai

Post by deeahchur »

That's beyond my knowhow . . . :(
Ti| / / S C A N N I N G
Tz) / / Incompatable Program detected
Tk| / / Initiate Yggdrassil Conscription Potocol
T=| "Appropriation is the highest form of appreciation."
Post Reply